top of page

Lesson Six: Understanding Abstract Art


This was DEFINITELY my favorite lesson. During my very first lesson, I showed students a picture of a Rothko as an example of artists who work primarily with color. Most student did NOT like it and exclaimed the typical "I could do that!!"

So, for my last lesson, I decided to embark on the difficult path of attempting to teach 5th graders about the value of abstract art.

I first explained some of the history of art, and how things really started to change with the Impressionists. We watched a great video that explained how abstract art came to be.

We talked about why abstract art actually is very very hard to do.

I gave examples of famous abstract artists and explained their methods, highlighting that they were the first ones to ever make art like this, and that it took them hundreds of hours and hundreds of dollars worth of paint.

Next, we had an art critique. It began with me showing a piece of abstract art and the students were to be completely silent for 30 seconds and to just observe the art. Then, they could write down their thoughts and impressions of the art. Then, we had a discussion about it.

This was probably my favorite part, because many students gave amazing and insightful comments about the art! Some kids who have had trouble in other lessons really soared here.

It was great to push the students' thinking and have them answer the questions "Does this painting hold you attention? Do you have an emotional reaction?"

The last thing we did was EXPERIMENT!

I gave students a short demo on how to use a stick to paint, and how to use a sandwich bag to make prints. Then I showed them their materials, black and white paint, sticks, bags, brushes, and whatever else they wanted to use.

I asked students to experiment and create new textures and to really get creative, but to make sure they maintained respect for their classroom and each other.

I put up a list of words on the projector such as "drip, rub, rip, stick, scratch, blot, smear," etc to give them ideas.

I then explained how aritsts like Kandinsky and Jackson Pollock would paint while listening to classical music. So I turned on classical music and let the students to get to work!

I was SO impressed with these students. They were doing things with paint that even I hadn't thought of. They also had a lot of fun and many kids said they wanted to start painting at home!

I am so thankful to have been able to help teach Ms. Washburn's 5th grade class and I have really come to love these students!


bottom of page